Dress Like a Woman

As I sweated up the hill on one of my frequent walks I asked myself for the billionth time why I was exercising on a Sunday. It’s the day of rest, God rested, hungover students are resting, the people in the waterfront cafes are resting. This is how the conversation (inside my head) went:

“I’m exercising to keep fit”

“Or are you?”

“What?”

“Let’s face it, you exercise to look baaaaaaaaaabe’in”

“Yes, well, it’s not like I’ll be getting plastic surgery anytime soon”

“But what if it got really cheap?”

“Ugh, it’s so tough being a woman these days”

It’s so tough being a woman these days. And yes I’ve had many a feminist rant before, and it is depressing to think that we females, the majority at law school, the majority at university in New Zealand will take a fraction of the top positions in firms and other businesses. Then there are the other standards, that our bodies must be hair-less but our eyelashes and head hair must be luscious and long. Between bemoaning these facts I was doing some readings and came across this quote, advice to a female lawyer in 1947 in New Zealand:

“Dress like a woman, speak like a lady, think like a man and work like a dog.”

The first, second and fourth of these reign so true. But “think like a man”?! Is that really what it takes? The more I think about it, the more I fear that life hasn’t changed much since 1947.

Leave a Reply

