Working Gal

I have my own desk with a really comfy swivel chair, my own telephone (with my own extension), my own swiper card and not one, but two computer screens. I look so pro. Well I did, after I finally had I.T training to learn how to use the complicated document management systems that I actually do need the two screens to use.

I’ve had my first meeting in the boardroom, my first report, my first cups (plural) of tea from our communal kitchen and next week I’m on baking for team morning tea. If only there was more deadpan humour and English accents it would be something straight out ofThe Office.

I’m toiling away for a whopping fifteen hours a week (trust me, that feels like heaps when I’m trying to do uni work and actually have a life) at Crown Law (so that’s the government’s lawyers) helping out on a big case. That’s all I’m going to say because I had to sign so many privacy waiver forms that at this very moment I’m worried I’ve already said too much.

Everyone at the office is really cool (especially surprising considering they’re all lawyers) and the secretaries are like a team of super organised mums looking after everyone.

The very best thing is that I finally feel useful. I’m making people’s lives easier, I’m being helpful. What I am doing is not just for me like all the other stuff I do (study, exercise, eat, hang out with friends) and it’s not because I feel it’s the right thing to do (like mentoring or listening to people’s problems), I’m being appreciated by people who could just as easily say nothing. We should do more of that.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have readings on the criminalisation of witches in the 1600s to get back to (ironically the first bit of exciting law and it will NEVER be relevant in my actual life).

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Briar
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 10:28:15

    Congratulations miss working girl! Sounds like working life suits you, now just have to finish that damn degree..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

