I’ll Take That as a Compliment

I have a very distinctive laugh. At a friend’s play, she said she knew exactly where I was sitting in the audience from where the laugh was coming from. I laugh rather loudly and I do it often. Actually laughing is one of my favourite things to do. Despite all the mockery I am sorely tempted to try one of those laughter yoga classes.

We had law school cocktail night this week, which is a yearly function where everyone dresses up in (state the obvious) cocktail attire and pretends to be civilised at a nice bar in town. I was sitting with a group of friends laughing away at a story about one girl’s friend who has an uncanny ability to grow really long nipple hairs (intriguing right?!) when I looked over to the opposite couch and a very cute guy was staring at me, so I dutifully smiled and stared back until he said something. I was hoping for a nice wink or a comment about how cute I was looking but no, what came out of his mouth was, “I’m really enjoying watching you laugh, it’s really entertaining”

Inside my head I was like “WHAT? Is that really what you’re going to say? Seriously. After the whole fourty-five minutes I spent getting ready!” But I actually said, obviously taken aback, “Oh thanks (laugh) I get that all the time.” (CRINGE! but so trying to play it cool)

He said, “I didn’t mean that to be offensive (pause) um it looks like you’re having fun.”

To which I replied, “I am having fun.” He didn’t come up with anything quickly and I was so weirded out that I went back to talking to my friends. He never introduced himself or said anything else to me for the rest of the night.

I’ll take it, don’t worry, even though I’m not quite sure whether it was creepy or flattering, but really, is that all you’ve got?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Wandering Eyes « Project Lucky

Leave a Reply

